Emotions in worship–friend or foe?

I find myself in the difficult position of having to lead worship at a funeral for a dearly loved Aunt, who passed away at the age of 97.  It got me thinking about how difficult this might be and how difficult it might be to control my emotions and I wondered whether or not this was a burden or a blessing.

I’ve often chided myself for being emotional.  I’ve often asked God why I was so emotional.  I don’t like the lack of control that emotions bring; from one who likes to be in control.

So, should we be trying to keep emotions out of worship?  Do they grieve the Holy Spirit?  Do they interfere with what He is trying to accomplish in worship?  Many would say that being too emotional is not “spiritual”.  Where does the balance lie?

Or, do we embrace emotions?  Are they the vehicle of the Holy Spirit?  Do they illustrate the level of connection between the Holy Spirit and His people?  Where does the balance lie?  If you are too emotional, are you thinking clearly?  How much do we let go and let God–if in fact that’s what’s happening?

I know some people think everything should be done “decently and in order”, while others desire complete “freedom”.  Who is right?  Either, both or neither?

I know I’ve asked a lot of questions in this post and haven’t provided many answers; possibly because, even after all these years, I don’t have the answers.  Will we ever know what God expects? Probably not, but it shouldn’t stop us from asking the question and discussing it.  I hope you’ll join me in this journey.

Sing’cerely yours,

Dannie

2 thoughts on “Emotions in worship–friend or foe?

  1. Hi Dannie – My sense would be – don’t stifle anything – your heart is in the right place your spirit is in the right place – we love people – we grieve when they pass, even if it iSthat they are passing on to the glorious Heaven. My sense would be – don’t stifle or ‘quench’ your feelings or your spirit – we are who we are because God made us each special; some cry a lot – some never cry – neither is right or wrong – just different.
    I know you will do a great job – you will bring Glory to God and you will provide comfort to the family in whatever you say and however you say it. May God bless you in this.
    “Sincerely to Sing-cerely” Dot MacElwain

    1. Hi Dot,
      As it turns out, for this occasion, God provided the strength necessary. To God be the Glory! But I know He would have been glorified, regardless! It is a constant struggle or balancing act, I guess and it’s probably like the apostle Paul and his thorn in the side for which he didn’t receive any relief either.

Leave a comment